BASE: Spring Preview


Purvit Patel

Wilkes Baseball

Affiliation: MAC Freedom

Head Coach: Brandon Michael (0-0), first season

Venue: Artillery Park located in Kirby Park

Last year’s record: 10-24, noting nine one-run losses with eight of them in conference play.

Key returners: Senior: third baseman Joe Champi (.369 avg.); Juniors: second baseman Jack Fischer (.353) and left fielder Brady Wing (.321)

What coach says about this season:

“This is my eighth year as part of the Wilkes baseball program, four as a player and four as a coach, with this being my first year as the head coach. I have never been this excited to start a season. We have a fantastic group of guys, which includes a handful of upperclassmen and a large group of freshmen that have meshed well together and created a strong culture,” said Michael. “We have definitely had to overcome a few challenges along the way, but I believe those challenges have made every single person in this program stronger and better as both a person and a baseball player.”

#     NAME   YR.   POS.  Bat/Throw

0 Nick Pronti   Fr. INF R/R

1 Brady Wing   Jr. OF R/R

2 Jarret Clymer   Sr. OF S/R

3 Bryan Nifenecker Fr. INF L/R

4 Jorge Gonzalez      Jr. INF S/R

5 Jared Angerman    Fr. INF L/R

6 Rob Iacono   Fr. INF R/R

8 Alex Palmer   Jr. OF R/R

9 Michael Patrizio    Fr. INF R/R

10 Eric Beideman     So. C R/R

11 Travis Woolfenden Jr. P R/R

12 Jesse Gerdes   Fr. C/INF R/R

13 Keaton Allison     Jr. C R/R

14 Alex Halladay      So. INF L/R

15 Tyler Walther       So. C S/R

16 Nick Malatesta     Fr. C R/R

17 Jonah Harder        Fr. OF R/R

18 Zach Metz     Jr. P L/L

19 Andrew Indzonka Fr. P R/R

20 Colin Smith     Fr. P R/R

21 Anthony Favor     Fr. INF R/R

22 Adam Martinese  So. UTL R/R

23 Matt Reinert     So. OF R/R

24 Jack Fischer     Jr. INF L/R

25 Noah Durnin        Jr. P L/L

26 Joe Champi     Sr. INF R/R

27 Dan Eicher     Sr. INF R/R

28 Nicholas Capozzi  Jr. INF R/R

29 Jack Hines     Fr. OF R/R

30 Nolan Ott     Fr. P/C R/R

31 Charles Giacometti Jr.
    Fr. INF R/R

32 Jimmy Oschal      Fr. P R/R

33 Jason Tisa     So. P R/R

34 Matt Amaral     So. P R/R

35 Matthew Konikow Fr. P R/R

36 Matt Maranca         Jr. P R/R

38 Zach Adamchick   Fr. P L/L

39 Kyle Pokrinchak    Fr. P/INF L/R

42 Francis Navatta      Fr. P L/R

46 Nicholas Poyer       Jr. P L/L

47 Jeremy Worlinsky  Jr. P/INF R/R

48 Vincent Uzzi       Fr. OF R/R

49 Jeremy Yzeik       So. P R/L