Spring Commencement: A farewell to Colonels

Wilkes University bid farewell to a total of 715 students at its 69th Annual Spring Commencement Ceremony on May 21.

Among the 715 graduates, six awards were presented as well as an additional two students specially recognized.

Anthony Fanucci, received the Alumni Leadership Award, which is given to the student who has contributed the most to the Wilkes student life and activities program. Troy Carey, received the Teresa Jordan and Frank Mahm Prize, which is given to the student “who most nearly represents the ideal respecting moral courage, unselfishness, and noteworthy extracurricular participation significantly advancing the university on and off campus.”

Three students received the Mabel Scott Wandell Award and Sterling Leroy Wandell Award. The awards are given to the man and woman with the highest GPA. This year, Sydney Schafer graduated with a perfect 4.0 average. Donachatch Kiangsiri and Zachary Sullivan, tied with a 3.98.

Finally, pharmacy students Kelly Kempa and James Steigerwalt, were recognized for earning 4.0 averages during their first four years at Wilkes.

Ty Frederickson spoke on behalf of students receiving graduate degrees, and Anthony Fanucci spoke on behalf of those receiving bachelor’s degrees.

Frederickson is among the first doctoral graduates from ABA, which is an international school in Muscat, Oman. Fanucci received his bachelor of science degree and is continuing his schooling toward a doctor of pharmacy degree at Wilkes. He also served as Student Government president.

The ceremonies were held at the Arnaud C. Marts Sports and Conference Center on Wilkes University’s campus.

Speakers included acting deputy secretary of postsecondary and higher education at the Pennsylvania Department of Education Wil Del Pilar, as well as President Patrick F. Leahy.

“Two ceremonies, 715 graduates, thousands of family members, bagpipes, parades and street celebrations after,” described Vice President of Student Affairs Paul Adams. “There is no better day in our academic year.”